In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, advances in technology have brought significant changes in the workplace, such as telecommuting, which has gained popularity due to the use of electronic gadgets. Although there are many benefits of this novel development, there are many drawbacks to consider. On the one hand, one of the positive aspects of working from one’s place is liberty. Online employees can regulate their tasks effectively by simply using their computers or smartphones to achieve their goals. As an illustration, they can determine their environment, work hours, and breaks as they have full access to the Internet all day long. Moreover, if telecommuter were fully committed to their jobs, they would achieve a higher rate of productivity. Virtual workers have less distraction rather than the regular employees have in their offices. For example, traditional jobs might be ineffective as a result of limited office hours, noise and side conversations. Therefore, home-based-office can be beneficial rather than conventional jobs. However, there are many merits of an online job, it can cause serious problems such as isolation. Telecommuters cannot develop team skills. For instance, when individuals work remotely, the do not have the opportunity to interact with other peers. Furthermore, online employees sometimes find it difficult to separate their job tasks from their household matters. To illustrate this, despite the concentration they have in their property, they might get stuck with duties such as cleaning, shopping, and childcare. As a result, work-at-home employees can be negatively affected by such distraction in their own houses. To conclude, the norm of the workplace has been changed by the most innovative technology such as computers and smartphones. Although commuting has many positive aspects such as freedom and the high productivity rate, there are many negatives to consider like inability to work in teams and to separate business from personal duties.