People tend to work longer hours nowadays. Working long hours has a negative effect on themselves, their families and the society, so working hours should be restricted. Do you agree or disagree?

Working longer hours are getting more common in today’s society. Yet, there is empirical evidence demonstrating that this trend not only brings negative impacts on the workers themselves but also on their families and the company as a whole. Therefore, I totally agree with the idea of limiting working hours. First and foremost, been exerting pressure on the huge amount of tasks and long hours concentrating on work, the possibility remains that there is such extensive damage in physical condition and mental health, such as fatigue and obesity. Moreover, spending more time at work is probably at the expense of a personal life. Busy working schedules prevent people from taking frequent family trips or even just having meals together. Relationships among members are greatly weakened if they cannot make time for each other. As a result, people may become socially isolated, thereby suffering from stress and depression. Not only bringing negative impacts on employees, but working overtime might also probably cause severe damage to an organization. The primary reason is that employees tend to be less productive. When people feel exhausted, they tend to make more errors at work than they used to and they have to spend much more on trying to catch up on those neglected tasks. Moreover, it would lead to higher absenteeism and turnover, which then forces employers to spend much more on recruiting and training new employees. Therefore, it would remain a decline in the efficiency of a company. In conclusion, long work hours are often counterproductive. Therefore, I would be supportive of the position to restrict the working hours of employees.