Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern society, sometimes state authority use technology to track the actions and conversations of individuals by smartphones and cameras and these people have no information about that. There are different approaches about positive and negative sides of this process. In my opinion, we should use some control mechanisms in order to prevent crime, however we should not overdo it. “The golden mean” should be found. First of all, advanced technology is used to track people due to the high level of criminal. Especially related to terrorism, human trafficking and drug trading, and as the examples show, in developed western countries, government often managed to prevent such kind of illegal activities. Furthermore, tracking systems help police to find people who lost and could not remember their location. For instance, elderly people and children, that are easy targets for criminals. However, often government of different countries, particularly authoritarian states use such type of technology to control peoples’ private life, record their chats and blackmail them in order to get political loyalty or get illegal money from them. Due to these actions, people often lose freedom of speech and expression and became vulnerable against the illegal power. We can see the such kind of governance in the book “1984” written by famous author George Orwell. In conclusion, based on analysis of both opinions, it can be said that in the process of using modern technologies, government and society should find the right balance between maintaining the order and defend peoples’ private life against illegal interference. Because if society loses the freedom of speech, there is no chance to establish democratic and independent country which we all are dreaming about.