As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

The growing advancement of the Internet has made it more popular for people to gain information online and replaced newspapers. I partially agree with this, for the increasing convenience provided by online news regardless of the fact that newspapers still play a significant role for some people who are unable to use modern gadgets. On the one hand, the Internet has made newspapers more outdated due to the rapid advancement of online information. In other words, people no longer need to carry newspapers in their bags and search for particular information on the spread paper. Moreover, a fast connection to networks in a recent society allows people to access whatever information of their interests and bobbies in an instance. For example, online news platforms such as Yahoo and Google are dominantly used by many individuals around the world because they offer hundreds of sources of news in seconds, helping those with tight schedules to cope without having trouble searching. This promotes their better understanding of the facts of their nations and the world, making an incredible contribution to the analysis of some problems and generating creative ideas and solutions in a more limited time. Thus, the incredible improvement of online news has made newspapers less popular and attractive. On the other hand, newspapers will not be replaced by online information completely as they are still in great demand by some people who do not know how to use modern technology to their own advantage. Indeed, many seniors are still reliant on newspapers as they often feel frustrated or disappointed by the excessive amount of services that smartphones and computers provide, which they cannot handle in daily life. Therefore, the traditional style of reading newspapers is more suited to their needs as they get used to it. Furthermore, they are more likely to concentrate on each article as newspapers have much fewer distractions than online information which often comes with the floods of advertisements. Consequently, the elderly tend to regard newspapers as a necessary means of obtaining information. In conclusion, I somewhat agree that the growing popularity of the Internet has decreased the importance of newspapers due to the increasing easiness of online information. However, newspapers will survive as they are demanded by many seniors who are unable to use technological devices as well as young adults.