Food can be produced much more cheaply with the use of improved fertilizers and better machinery However some methods may be dangerous for human health and have negative effect on local communities To what extent do you think its disadvantages over weigh

Running parallel with the development of society, the cost of food has been considerably brought down thanks to the development of chemicals and machinery. Nonetheless, these methods take a heavy toll on not local communities, in conjunction with people’s health. This essay aims to elaborate on both sides and express the writer's opinion that its drawbacks overshadow its benefits. It is evident that advantages brought up by intensive farming are numerous. One of the significant merit is that Agrochemicals provide the soil with much-needed nutrients. This dramatically enhances not only the growth of plants, but also the crop productivity, which yields more profits for farmers, thereby flourishing the rural economy. Another enormous benefit is that machines are modern labor-saving devices. For instance, since the harvesting process which used to take many days spends a few days, thanks to machinery, more time has now been available not solely for relaxation but also for other income-generating activities. Notwithstanding all of its upside, modern agriculture has exerted a host of detrimental implications on society as a whole and people themselves. First, fertilizers infiltrate the soil, reach the waterway and eventually end up in the domestic water and the food we consume, giving rise to many diseases and even cancer. In addition, toxic chemicals render the soil and land where they are located unusable and also destroy the adjacent soil as chemicals can spread into the surrounding soil, whereby upsetting the local ecosystems. Second, machineries produce a gargantuan of carbon dioxide through the combustion of fossil fuels, which directly correlates with the intensification of global warming, in conjunction with extraordinary extreme climatic conditions that pose an imminent threat to human’s life. In conclusion, the benefits of intensive farming are too pale compared to its devastating impacts. Thus, both farmers and customers should shift the attention to organic farming or sustainable farming techniques for the well-being of the environment and humans.