The best way for governments to solve the problem of traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day, seven days a week. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Urbanisation and modern life have presented people with many challenges and decisions, none of which are too rudimentary to be ignored. However, the crux of the matter is related to traffic jams. While some opine that providing 24/7 public facilities for commuters is one of the most effective ways to address such a serious issue, in my view, focusing solely on the way of transportation can not be the answer. On the one hand, public transportation goes a long way in decreasing the rate of traffic. To clarify, when citizens have access to modern vehicles, like the subway, minibus, and even train, they do not tend to drive their own car to get to the destination. As a result, the number of automobiles has decreased to a great extent on the street. Moreover, some people can not afford to drive almost all the time because of the price of petrol. Therefore, if they can get buses or taxis without paying money, it is no wonder they prioritise the use of such facilities, which are really fast and cheap compared to driving. On the other hand, there is a definite link between the quality of public transportation and people’s preference to utilise it. For example, in my country, Iran, in the hot seasons, such as summer and even spring, residents become reluctant to use this facility, since most of them do not have a good ventilation system. They cannot tolerate high temperatures. Hence, they have no other choice but to drive their own car. In addition, community education is a must in this case. If they benefit from a high-quality way of transportation, but they cannot understand the importance of these facilities, so it is a reckless mission. In conclusion, although the fact that public transportation is imperative is obvious to all, it does not necessarily reduce the number of cars on the street. I believe some other important options must be considered to have a better impact on societ