Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of the society. Others, however, believe that the school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give own opinion.

Good children are held in high esteem in any society because they contribute to its development. While some are of the opinion that it is the obligation of parents to raise their children, others believe this should be learnt in school. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument, but I believe it is the duty of parents to impart societal values to their offspring. The reasons why some people support that teachers educate children on how to be good members of the civilization include; the fact that some care givers are bad role models. In recent times, the number of cases of child abuse or abandonment has soared, this may be a consequence of an increasing number of irresponsible parents who have taken to crime and substance abuse. It is of no wonder why such people are unable to train reputable individuals that will help build their communities. Furthermore, teachers are highly trained professionals that can pass on basic societal norms and values. Thus, teachers play an important role in raising honourable members of the community. However, I believe that parents should take charge of teaching their children how to conduct themselves appropriately because unlike teachers, parents have the biological capacity of bringing up their offspring. Also, children have an innate ability to respect their parents rather than instructors, thus, it’s easier for them to obey directions and rules given to them by the former. As a result, they will be equipped with the necessary tools that will enable them to be socially fit. In conclusion, although teachers can impart good manners in children, it is the major role of their guardian or parent. I hope that more parents will step up to the challenge of raising respectable members of the public.