Many believe that modern technology has brought people together, but others say that it has driven us apart. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that current technology has helped bring people together, whereas others believe that the effect is the opposite. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives, give my opinion and some examples to support it. The enthusiasts of the first idea think that innovations such as the Internet, mobile phones, and other devices contribute to approximate people, especially those who are far away, living in another country or in another city. For example, I have some close schoolmates from college time which have moved abroad and thanks to social media, we keep in touch. Moreover, modern automation allows us to find pals from childhood with whom we eventually lose contact. Using chat software like WhatsApp, it is very easy to invite some partners to a party. On the other hand, children and adolescents prefer to use mobile phones to play games than talk to friends. Even among adults, people prefer to use automation rather than talk with community members. One instance that exemplifies this is that nowadays is faster and easier to access a website or an automatic call to order food or medication. To illustrate, in Brazil, there is a mobile application called "i-food" where is possible to check the menu and order food very quickly. Besides, the app saves our profile and it suggests the kind of meals we like most. This behaviour keeps us more and more away from human contact. To sum up, there are pros and cons to using machinery device and modern tools. It depends on how we use it. I believe that technology is a powerful tool that allows maintaining contact with family, mates and colleagues from the past in a question of seconds. However, it could be quite harmful to spend a lot of time on social media and missing who is on our side physically.