In some countries, parents expect their children to spend long time studying both in and after school and have less free time. What are the positive and negative effects on children and society they live in?

It is true that education plays an indispensable role in the children’s development. While many people argue that students will gain benefits if they spend most of the time to study, I believe that it has negative influences on both children and society. On the one hand, there are two primary reasons why children should not only study well at school but also reinforce knowledge at home. Firstly, they can gain countless opportunities to broaden their horizons in all fields like science, technology, and art, leading to comprehensive development. For instance, a schoolboy who took a long time learning in and after school was proficient in both English and Japanese, because he had many chances to listen, read, write and speak constantly. Secondly, in terms of society, this helps decline the juvenile delinquency rate and maintain social order. They could not be exposed to all sorts of temptations such as drugs or gangs, as they spent too much time on studying means less time spent on elsewhere. On the other hand, I suppose that these are outweighed by the drawbacks. One reason is that children who are addicted to learning, instead of playing outdoor activities, are more prone to obesity and faced with health problems. To be specific, when they keep their eyes glued to books or screens for several hours, it may cause headaches and eye diseases. In addition, if they are forced to sit all day long for researching, the majority of them might be the lack of not only social skills but also practical experience. They would not know how to choose suitable clothes to pay attention or how to build a strong relationship with other people. In conclusion, it is certainly true that over a long time on studying brings many advantages, but this is by no means pupils are not obtained negative impacts.