In many countries, people now wear western-style dresses such as suits and jeans rather than traditional clothing. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In contemporary times, it is a widely held belief that clothes that come from western are more prominent among individuals than traditional ones. This essay will articulate some chiefly driving factors behind this phenomenon as well as agree that the disadvantages eclipse its positive. First and foremost, there are some undeniable advantages of Western fashion. The first point can discuss is the comfort provided by shirts and jeans. It is quite suitable for those living in a hot place or having to do plenty of physical activities, compared to cultural clothes, which consist of a wide range of pieces and are so far inconvenient for the aforementioned people. Besides, the economic aspects of this type of clothes should be appreciated. For example, to purchase a set of Ao dai – a traditional cloth of Vietnam, inhabitants have to pay a huge sum because of the intricate process of making such outfits. It obviously contrasts with modern styles, which are so affordable because of being manufactured in large numbers so that people can easily own new ones. Whilst the trajectory above may have certain merits, from my perspective, the drawbacks outweigh its advantages. A mainly negative side is that this tendency could contribute to a dilute problem of cultural identity, which plays a crucial role in distinguishing various countries. If many people are swift to wear comfortable clothes and hesitate to try local customs on, the identification of that region can be blurred due to no more children being aware of their cultures and particular ethnicities. The lack of connection between teenagers and culture results in a sharp rise in the neglected feelings of regional heritage's profound significance, which is really detrimental for individuals and society as a whole. In conclusion, taking everything into account, it can be seen that several reasons lead to the increasing number of people choosing the style of the western part of the globe. However, I strongly believe that there are significant challenges to this trend, such as causing a deficiency in traditional identity among younger generations.