Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult such as the Sahara desert or Antarctic. what are the benefits and disadvantage for tourist who visits such places?

Over the last few years, there has been a significant increase in the number of people travelling to uninhabitable or hostile places. Most of them are driven by a passion to achieve something that few others have been able to achieve. In other words, they want to experience the adrenaline rush that such expeditions bring on. To begin with, one of the biggest benefits of undertaking difficult journeys is that, they want to improve their confidence and abilities. While the journey can be physically and mentally exhausting, the exhilaration that one experiences upon its successful completion is not something that can be described in mere words. Additionally, this need to conquer the unknown that encourages people to climb mountains. For instance, Mike Horn a famous Swiss mountain tracker has climbed K2 several times to reach the summit. During his expedition, he sustained lethal injuries, but he is still passionate doing his job. Adventure tourism is growing by leaps and bounds. People are aware of the risks, yet they want to experience the thrill. So, they set out on difficult journeys. On the contrary side, difficult journeys can be extremely dangerous. The situation can go against our plans. Lots of travellers have died while trekking difficult mountains or rafting in turbulent rivers. Moreover, there are also many adventure travellers who sustain serious injuries that leave them immobile for the rest of their lives. Another drawback of such journeys is that if the travellers go missing or find themselves in trouble, the governments may have to launch costly rescue operations. To conclude, difficult journeys are extremely thrilling. They are equally dangerous; yet many people undertake them because they want to test their limits and conquer the unknown.