Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Even though cycling is one of the greenest and the healthiest ways of moving around the city, many people still have been avoiding it. In my opinion, it is a lack of cycling infrastructure that limits and stops people from riding a bicycle. However, this can be easily solved by re-designing the road network, taking into account both experienced and inexperienced cyclists. The root cause of the unpopularity of cycling is that the roads in many cities are not cycle -friendly. This is because they were designed for cars and have not been modernised since their construction hundreds of years ago, when there were not such modern problems as a heavy traffic and congestions. Therefore, they are not able to provide safe space for cyclists and to enable them to feel secure and confident while riding alongside cars. Moreover, the lack of cycling infrastructure may cause road accidents. For instance, many of those who have already had road accidents while riding bicycle, will not probably have a desire to cycle again unless they see tremendous changes on the roads and feel safe to use them. It is quite evident that the best approach to tackle the problem of people being afraid of cycling on busy roads is to invest more money in cycling infrastructure. If more cycle paths were constructed and some roads were converted into cycle -only roads, it would reduce pressure and stress on cyclists and, as a result encourage citizens to use bicycles instead of public transport or private cars. A prime example of cycle -friendly city Amsterdam, where the vast majority of citizens use their bicycles not only for pleasure, but also to commute due to exceptionally well-organised cycle lanes. In this city cars are quests on the streets, not bicycles. In conclusion, the undeveloped cycling infrastructure appears to be the reason why bicycles are still not the most popular means of transportation. In order to encourage people to ride the bicycles more often, pecuniary resources should be allocated to the construction of an elaborate network of cycle lanes as cycling should be comfortable and safe for everyone.