It is often thought that the increase in juvenile crime is a direct influence of the increase in violence in media. To what extent do you agree with the above statement?

Juvenile delinquency- the word itself reveals its terrific nature. Many scholars reveals that the violence in the media often influences minors. Moreover, these media are more powerful to create an aggressive criminal minded person with their nasty thoughts. I strongly support the notion that there is a strong, undeniable impact of communication media in the crime rate. Firstly, the unlawful behaviour of a minor is found to have its graph which continuously elevating per year, mainly, because of their inability to sift out the irrational from the rational and logical view. Various factors contribute to this. Such as family environment, peer influence, including friends, films, news. In addition, some have the personality factors such as gender, neurological and psychological. Around six to sixteen percent of male teens and two to nine percent of female teens have a conduct disorder. When these groups of people exposed to the offending news/ evil scenes, they often get attracted and subsequently commits crimes. Nowadays, even though there are censoring system in world televisions, studies reveal that there are a good number of fans for such crime provocative scenes. For instance, a movie named “Saw” have 7 sequential part, a film seemingly delights in how many taboos, it violates on screen have a huge number of fan followers. This number is so terrifying that these people knowingly or unknowingly promote and supports act of torture and the infliction of extreme violence and utmost cruelty. To continue with, delinquency prevention is the broad term for all efforts aimed at preventing youth from becoming involved in criminal, or other antisocial, activity. Prevention services may include activities such as substance abuse education and treatment, family counselling, youth mentoring, parenting education, and educational support. To put it in a nutshell, the impact of inaccurate reporting or placement of news about a violation can mislead a person. The media should develop a new approach to cover crime and delinquency, regardless of whether the medium is printed or broadcasted. Social influence is one that shape a child’s behaviour. So, it is our responsibility to develop healthy, happy children, in complete harmony with the nature and the world.