Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern times, the issue of monitoring society using technology has become highly controversial. Technological advancements have allowed the governments, the police and privately owned companies to keep the public under close surveillance. From my perspective, there are more advantages than drawbacks, as I will outline below. From an overall perspective, there are a number of advantages of this phenomenon. Perhaps the main advantage of this is security reasons. The government may detect terrorist attacks before it hurts people. Moreover, in cities that have a high crime rate, using security cameras can act as a deterrent to criminals. If they see security cameras recording them, they will think twice about breaking into a building or stealing a car. If a crime is carried out, security cameras may reveal the offenders. In addition, Cell phone logs may find a missing person. For example, whenever a cell phone is used, the call is logged, the service provider knows exactly when and where the user made the call. Missing person can be found owing to these information. Despite these arguments, there are also various disadvantages. One of the most obvious of these is invading individuals' privacy. In major cities, security cameras are recording the movements of ordinary people without their permissions and knowledge. In countries where human rights are ignored, the use of security cameras and listening device may be harmful to society. The governments may arrest people because of their dissenting opinions. People should be able to express their thoughts and feelings without fear of punishment. In conclusion, it must be said that monitoring society has clear advantages and disadvantages. It seems inevitable that there will be more and more ways to monitor society in the future. However, having considered both sides of the issue, I would argue that it is our responsibility to evaluate new technology and decide whether it will do more harm than good.