Some people think that the benefit of running a small business is to employ family members. What are the advantages and disadvantages of running a family business?

Family owned work help drive local and global economies. However, while employing family members ensures that staff is loyal and committed, it also has drawbacks. The most significant benefit of running a family industry is having members of the staff that are more committed to the company than in non-family firms. It also has a drawback. The most significant benefit of running a family business is having members of staff that are more committed to the company than in non-family firms. As the overall needs of the family depend on the success of the business, employees are willing to sacrifice time and money to achieve this common goal. This is probably most evident when a firm is in its initial stages, with relatives willing to work long hours or with no pay. Another positive is pre-existing trust between family members. Long-standing relationships mean that confidential information can be discusses freely. Moreover, in difficult times siblings, parents can offer emotional support. On the other hand, there are also some disadvantages to working with family. When relatives are also colleagues, the line between home and industry becomes blurred. As a result, people are more likely to overwork, or brink their job home with them. Even worse, when professional conflicts arise in the office, it can be almost impossible for these not to spill over into personal relationships. For example, the situation where a husband has to discipline wife for poor misconduct in the workplace.In fact, when small day-to-day conflicts, which are inevitable in any business enterprise, could affect family dynamics, and this could be a high price to pay for many couples or relatives. To conclude, while family-run businesses benefit from employees with a personal investment in the company, they also have to deal with the downsides connected with the separation of job life and home life. Therefore, relatives should think carefully before setting up a family-owned operation.