In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of aging populations.

Nowadays, more people expect to live more than ever before. In many countries around the world, life expectancy would go higher. This essay will discuss the main causes of the increased allotted span, including an increase in the number of retired people who will receive a pension, a small working population, a tax burden on working adults, and will also suggest solutions to these problems including increased retirement age and encourage immigration. As people live longer, the populations of several developed countries grow older, several related issues can be anticipated. Firstly, as life span increases, there is undoubtedly rising in the retired people who will increasingly be receiving a pension because they will have to fulfill put in effect fulfil their basic amenities of life. Secondly, there will be a smaller proportion of young adults who will have to look after elderly relatives. For example, a survey shows that the rise in life ’s duration is directly related to the smaller working population. Furthermore, adults would have to bear tax burden therefore they would not be economically so strong. So, the unusual increase in the life cycle will ultimately cause many unavoidable issues. Although there are so many effective solutions to these problems which will be implemented by the governments. The government should increase the retirement age so that individuals can be able to take care of themselves. On the other hand, governmental authorities should also encourage immigration to increase the number of young people who pay taxes. For instance, if foreign people tend to move into other countries, then the tax rate would be balanced to a great extent. Also, longevity would never be going to affect anyone anymore. In conclusion, increasing old age is an uncontrolled factor, so we need to tackle this issue efficiently. This essay discussed that the rise in life span leads us to the rise in people who will receive a pension, a small proportion of the working population, and tax problems for working adults. This essay also suggested that the solutions to these problems are twofold, to promote immigration, and increase the retirement age.