Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Getting cities overcrowded is one of the major issues faced by the modern world nowadays. Although serious problems have arisen because of this, there are solutions for this issue. Today majority of people are showing the tendency to live in urban areas either because of their work or because of the ease of access of different facilities which they are needed in day to day life. However, such tendency of humans has made most of the urban areas overpopulated and these led to many problems. One of the first problems is a scarcity of clean water, a large number of people are not getting good quality of water for their daily use, because of the poor water supply system and also it’s polluted by industries and other businesses around them. If the people are not getting safe water, it will lead to outbreak of epidemics and which is even worse. Another major issue is that not enough space to build proper houses. Since most of the areas in cities are occupied, it is really hard to build a new house or apartments, so as a result people have to share apartments or even rooms for higher rent. For example, in Mumbai, which is a metropolitan city in India, where two to three families are sharing one flat which is totally unimaginable. It is important, that government and individuals should take some initiatives to combat these problems. The government should implement new systems, such as installing rain barrels and also building new water filtering plants to provide hygienic water to people living in city areas. Individuals can also play a major role to overcome the issue of houses and apartments getting overcrowded, by moving and settling in rural areas and in that case government should help them by improving the public transportation facilities for their daily commute to and from urban areas. For example, most of the first world counties, have a well scheduled public transportation system that takes people from small towns to major locations of the state, for their work as well as for other needs. To conclude, people are moving to cities in seek of good life, but overpopulation has made it worse to live in urban areas. However, the right actions by the government and wise decisions of the individuals can definitely help to tackle these issues.