The older people who need employment have to compete with younger ones. What problems can this create? What are some solutions?

It is true that ages differences have led to competition in the past years when the elderly have to compete with young adults. This essay attempts to shed light on the problems which have resulted from this tendency before outlining several viable solutions that should be adopted to tackle this issue. There are two major problems which the older generation has to face when competing with the young. First and foremost, the aged group has a higher chance of losing vacancies since the newest generation is more beneficial for the company. Some employers see younger generations as cost-effective workers due to their lower salary expectations. Secondly, old employees’ overall health might be negatively impacted. This is because their younger colleagues seem to be more creative and adaptable to the constant changes in the workplace. They can update the trends faster and learn new techniques faster, especially the tasks required for information technology. This, therefore, could cause the old workers to suffer from serious mental health issues, such as depression or even mental breakdown. To combat this worrying issue, it is crucial to take the following feasible steps. The first measure is that governing bodies should encourage enterprises to create a regulation for fair hiring practices to be implemented by allowing aged workers to join their organization. This could give senior citizens greater opportunities to land suitable jobs and earn a living. Another remedy is that relevant authorities should provide workshops on the skill sets needed for the elderly. This training will help them to improve their relevant skills, such as time management or problem-solving ability which could not only improve their work performance but also help them keep pace with the young in their workplace. In conclusion, there are a host of severe consequences to the increasing rivalry between the old and the young in the job market, and it is crucial that the aforementioned measures be implemented not only by the governmental bodies but also by individuals to deal with these issues.