It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Educational institutions around the world have been trying to find the best mix between academic and practical courses. Although academic subjects have been the primary focus for a good number of years, practical ones are gaining more attention recently. On the one hand, academic courses, such as chemistry and history, are of vital importance for students. First, by studying those courses in high school, students are equipped with the fundamental knowledge to continue their higher education, especially in science fields. For example, in order to be an environmental scientist whose job is to preserve the environment, a student certainly needs to acquire complex knowledge and be fluent in academic theories. Second, academic courses are necessary because they help graduates land higher-paying jobs. In fact, most high-salaried workers are required to have complex understandings of their disciplines, which can only be achieved if they have taken academic subjects. On the other hand, practical courses, such as mechanics and cooking, are necessary for the majority of people. First, since many people do not want to commit years of their lives to a college education, practical subjects allow the majority to make a living much earlier. This would have a variety of positive impacts on the society as there would be fewer unemployed workers, which also means fewer crime cases. Second, companies nowadays tend to place more emphasis on workers who have solid practical experience. For instance, in order to be a hotel manager, one is required to finish his or her training courses, which are usually non-academic. In conclusion, although academic courses are important to some, practical ones are crucial for most. Depending on the job market and career path, students should be able to find their best mix.