Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that each nation should grow crops locally, whereas others think that importing foodstuff from other countries is a good idea. I believe that a state must focus on its region to yield crops as it could increase the economic growth and employability level. Firstly, Although many nations import goods, which involve international transportation charges, taxes and labour expenses, it is beneficial to local country if food yield locally. This is because each province generates revenue, which is essential for people and the country's growth. As a result, everyone can buy foodstuff at a minimal price, and live life without any worry. For example, India is known as the most massive production of cotton in high yield and purchasing cost of cotton in India is meagre as compared to other developed nations. Secondly, more production in the territory means that more framing in the local land, which directly impacts on employability level and benefit to local to get the job in the agriculture field. Consequently, the government should promote the framing and encourage more people to do the framing. For instance, 50% population of India is involved directly or indirectly in the agriculture sector. This means that it lessens the employment level as half of the population work in agriculture. In conclusion, As imported food is no benefit to any country in terms of progress, regional food brings more advantages such as more revenue and improve the employability figure of the nation.