Many young people do not spend their holidays and weekends doing outdoor activities like hiking and climbing in natural environments. Why is this the case? How can they be encouraged to go out?

There is an ongoing debate over the absence of outdoor activities in many youngsters. There are several reasons for this phenomenon. This essay will discuss the reasons for this and suggest ways to tackle it. The main reason teenagers spend their leisure time at home is the revolution of technology. Specifically, young people prefer spending their time on electrical devices rather than playing outside. For instance, many studies have shown that 75% of teenagers tend to entertain themselves at home via television and phone on weekends. Additionally, the lack of practical activities in childhood can be seen as the culprit. To explain that, many parents these days limit their children from taking part in outdoor activities because they think it could bring some unpredictable injuries. Hence, those children are likely to think hiking or climbing can hurt themselves and stay at home instead. Some actions should be taken to motivate children to do outside activities. Holding a competition with a reward can attract children's interest. In other words, schools or local organizations can arrange a running competition, the winners can receive worthy rewards. In Vietnam, many schools have organized a race annually, which received positive changes in students' behaviors. Additionally, parents play an important role in encouraging children to not rely on electric devices. To illustrate, parents can set up a picnic on the weekend, which helps to enhance relationships and prevent children from playing phones. In conclusion, technological development has affected profoundly teenagers' activities in their leisure time. However, I believe with the right solution, schools, and parents can motivate children to enjoy outdoor activities by holding events or competitions to make them more interested.