Many countries have recently adopted the practice of placing cameras in the streets and other public area in order to reduce crime. To what extent do you think this is effective and does it conflict with the public’s right to privacy. Discuss

There is no shadow of doubt that cameras have been dominating the streets, in order to prevent the crime. By considering the person's safety, many nations around the globe has started installing the camera in the street. In this essay, I will argue the why monitoring is entirely necessary. On the one hand, people feel being monitored, revokes privacy at common places. It may induce them to commit an unethical violation. Moreover, it can influence individuals to abstain from the social activities, such as going to the gym or to work, because of their fear of being followed. For instance, a friend of mine didn't go out of the house for two months because if the video of her has spread in the public. Finally, politicians, individuals with power, can use these videos to leverage to achieve their goals. On the other hand, cameras play a vital role in reducing the breach in all over the world, by making the people more cautious. Nowadays, video footages are taking into the consideration to prove the crime in court. For example, a study carried out by the University of Canada showed that, crime in big cities has plummeted by 50%. Lastly, it gives an opportunity to monitor the traffic, in order to prevent the vehicle jams on highways. In conclusion, privacy is a great issue of concern. When considering the benefits of installing cameras on the street outweigh the drawbacks including peoples' privacy.