Some people want governments to spend money looking for life on other planets. Others, however, think this is a waste of public money when there are so many problems on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Recent speculations on the possibility of other life forms have raised questions of whether government funds should be allocated to space exploration or focus on fixing the problems on Earth. There are several reasons why people hold such views, and this essay shall analyse both views, and give my opinion. Life on other planets is a fascinating topic, and people are curious to see possible evidence. Hence, some people believe that the government should invest in space research. Beyond curiosity, it is also believed that making contact with extraterrestrial life forms would play a remarkable role in innovation, advancement of science, and even future communication across planets. Proponents of space research also believe that being first to establish any contact with aliens could increase the perceived power index of their country, and all of these possibilities would surely have long-term benefits. Opponents of space research strongly argue that there are various socioeconomic issues that require urgent attention on Earth, such as poverty, lack of public service amenities, inadequate health care system, and environmental degradation, thereby feeling that extraterrestrial exploration constitutes a waste of the country's budget. They believe that rather than invest billions in space missions, it is better to fix these issues because they have direct and immediate beneficial effects on the populace. While both groups have strong arguments, I think that both have their advantages, and it would be beneficial to find a balance where space research and socioeconomic problems are catered to. This way, we would enjoy the long-term and short-term benefits of these investments. In summary, while investing in space research would have long-term benefits for the country, it is important that cogent issues regarding the wellness of the citizenry should also be well-funded.