Shopping is now one of the most popular forms of leisure activity in many countries for young adults. Why is this? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In our modern society, the trend of spending the free time primarily on shopping among the youngsters has grown remarkably. Personally, I believe that the negative aspects of this tendency surpass the positive points. In my opinion, media influence and the ease of accessibility are the main reasons behind this development. In this essay, I shall critically examine the given topic and outline relevant examples to support my view. To begin with, nowadays, the media have a significant influence on the people of the younger generation. Today, most of the advertisements shown on the television or the internet, are targeted towards this particular age group. This greatly encourages the tendency of shopping in one's spare time. For example, a recent study conducted at the Stanford University showed that due to the increased media influence, in the last decade, both offline and online shopping among the people of age 15 to 25 has risen considerably. These findings further illustrate the level of impact it has on the young people. Moreover, due to the recent advancements made in our mobile phone technology. It is now easier than ever to access the online e-commerce websites on your cell phones. This is an another reason behind this movement. In addition to this, a report published by the Oxford University press revealed that in the last 5 years, shopping apps for the mobile phones have witnessed a significant climb, due to the increased number of cell phone users, especially among the younger generation. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. After a thorough analysis of the subject, I am inclined to say that the detrimental effects of this change cannot be denied, and thus it would be fruitful to search for the possible solutions to this global problem.