In the developed world, average life expectancy is increasing. What problems will this cause for individuals and society? Suggest some measures that could be taken to reduce the impact of ageing populations.

The increasing of average life expectancy has been a concern over the past few years in the developed countries, Even though this trend causes several problems for individuals and society, there are still some measures that can be taken to address the impact of ageing populations. The major problem of this trend is that the pension budget of retired workers will be certainly increase, which create a financial burden on governments. As a result, the new tax law will be imposed on the working adults by the government in order that the national finance can be guaranteed. Furthermore, the pressures will include a rise in the demand for healthcare, and the fact young adults will increasingly have to look after their elderly relatives. There are several actions that governments could take to solve this issue. First of all, a simple solution would increase the retirement age for working adults. For example, in Viet Nam, last year the government decided to increase the retirement age for both women and men, from 60 to 65. Secondly, in order to make sure that people can be sufficient for working longer, governments should invest in their health care system, which provide the best support to societies. Finally, the national budgets can be taken from other areas to improve some facilities such as: accommodation, hospitals and transportation, which provide for the rising numbers of older citizens. To sum up, various measures can be taken to tackle problems that are certain to arise as the populations of countries grow older.