Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by many people that perceiving like criminals and putting into prison should be the ways to treat pill addicts, those who disagree point out that hospitalizing and caring them as patients should be a choice. In my perspective, I believe punishing them as prisoner and providing regular rehabilitation will be combination of treatment to improve the drug addicts’ condition. To begin with, consuming tablet is banned in several countries, it can be said that this habit is a crime; the person who involves this activity have to live in jail for some periods as punishment. During spending times in jail, the tablet addicts can experience how hard the consequence of doing a crime is. To illustrate, in Indonesia, the prisoners have done a lot of work as a daily routine and live with limitations, such as: a long of the duration of the work (from early morning to evening), strict schedule for sleeping or eating and short opportunity to meet the family. May the decision of imprisonment encourage the guilty amongst medicine consumers in order to make them surfeited in re-consuming medicine in the future. On the other hand, medicine addicts have been classified as one of disorders in psychiatry, which affect mental health and metabolism of body. Therefore, healing them by treating as patients in hospital is definitely the best solution to release them from this disorder and transform them being a normal person again. As patients in hospital, they will obtain rehabilitation treatment, such as addiction therapy, consultation with psychiatrists, even getting holistic care for curing narcotic effect on their body. The more they engage with those treatments, the higher possibility they to be cured will gain. However, I assume that giving regular consultation with a therapist or psychiatrist while sending them into jail is the greatest method to develop both physical and psychic condition of dose addicts. On the other words, they have received the punishment for their illegal habit beside acquire treatment for dealing with the disorder. To conclude, both of imprisonment and hospitalizing for people who addict to the drug can be applied as the way to decrease this trend amongst people.