Many people think that governments should invest more in public transportation instead of building new roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that governments should spend more on public transport rather than spending on constructing new roads. This essay completely agrees with this statement because it reduces traffic congestion on road and improves air quality. The primary reason why the government should invest in public transport is that it reduces high-density traffic in the city. The increase in public travel services will reduce the excessive number of private cars on the road. As a result, there will be fewer vehicles on busy days, which will bring down the congestion. For example, a single bus can take 40–50 cars off the road. This is a more sustainable way to solve heavy jams than simply adding more lanes. The second main reason why the government should focus on increasing the quantity of buses and trains is that it improves the oxygen level. As many people choose to commute using public transport, it reduces the carbon emissions to the atmosphere which was coming from individual vehicles. For instance, in cities like Tokyo or London, the extensive rail network prevents millions of tons of Carbon emissions annually compared to car-heavy cities. This is one of the most beneficial ways to solve air pollution rather than constructing additional lanes, which increases the number of vehicles. In conclusion, as traffic issues and air quality are more significant to address than the convenience of having new lanes, this essay believes that government authorities should invest more in public transportation services because it reduces movements on roads by increasing buses or trains and improves the quality of the air by reducing carbon footprint in the atmosphere.