Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no shadow of doubt that spending money on the arts has aroused many debates and discussions around it. Some people opine that instead of spending money on the arts, ministry should allocate its funds for the betterment of other sectors. This essay will argue why spending funds on the arts is entirely necessary. There are several reasons why the union should spend money on the arts. One of the predominant reasons is that art reflects the culture of a provincial and promotes people’s understanding of their culture and architecture. Secondly, people from outside the nations come to see the historical buildings and by maintaining its artistic legacy, a country can encourage tourists to visit again and again. This practice boosts the tourism sector and eventually the economic growth of a country. Thirdly, the craft sector employs many people. For example, artists like singers and dancers have huge fan following. Their shows are watched by thousands of people. Such events provide employment to hundreds of people. Without government funding many art forms will die down and that will be a huge loss for the country. However, spending on the arts should not be at the expense of other sectors like education, health care or defence. Those are certainly more important and hence should receive more funding. It is just that art should not be neglected. To conclude, countries around the world wants to express their culture to other nations. Thus, in my opinion funding the arts zone is an absolute imperative instead of financing the other sectors.