The Government’s investment in arts, music and theatre is a waste of money. Governments should invest these funds in public service instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

Many people believe that the government funds can be utilized for the public service, rather than developing theatres to promote art and music. Although I agree that it is important to invest in public services, but funding in the cultural sector is also crucial for the society. Firstly, public services touches on many aspects of everyday life, such as health, education, social care, urban planning which plays a crucial role in ensuring people’s contentment. Government should spend the large some amount of funds in developing the newer technologies in health sector leading to better outcomes that can enhance the quality of life. The authorities can educate the general public and implement many awareness programs across the countries to eradicate the diseases. Secondly, the investment in arts, music and theatre are also not a waste of money. They are an excellent source of wisdom and offers emotional experiences. Numerous studies have shown that cultural and creativity helps to enhance physical and mental health. They give us the opportunity to showcase our knowledge and talent. The country like India has one of the world’s largest collection of songs, music, theatre, performing arts, paintings and writings that are known as the ‘Intangible Culture Heritage’ of humanity. To conclude, I believe the government officials should balance their funds for both so public service can enhance the quality of life and at the same time cultural heritage can be preserved.