Many students take part-time jobs whilst studying in university. Is this a good or bad idea?

An increasing number of college students are opting for part-time jobs while pursuing their major, and although, such trend might have some negligible drawbacks, in my opinion, it is a greatly beneficial idea. There are numerous advantages to such inclination. Firstly, adolescents will acquire a diverse set of skills from different part-time jobs, which can help them in their future career prospects, particularly if they are lucky to land one in the similar field as their chosen major. Moreover, as working students will become financially literate earlier than their counterparts, they will reap the benefits of money management skills, which will help them greatly in adulthood. To exemplify, the majority of adults, despite their good income, have difficulty in managing their earnings between leisure and essentiality. Secondly, even a part-time occupation equates to an extra source of income that can be used not only towards juvenile’s personal expenses, such as daily outings and hobbies, but can also be saved for their university tuition fee, and this in turn would reduce financial dependency on the parents or the governmental financial aids. Thirdly, although academic life, hobbies and work can all often be too overwhelming for a mere college-goer, it will teach him multitasking, time management and responsibility of one’s life. Thus, instead of indulging in unnecessary activities, juveniles will learn to balance all the tasks for maximum benefit. Finally, the outcome of learnt independence, communication methods, and skills for work is confidence boost, coming out of one’s shell, specifically in introverts, and personal growth as a whole in the teenager. In conclusion, I believe besides it is a good idea, there are several benefits of tackling a job while studying as the end result will be an independent, responsible adult.