All children should be given a laptop when they start high school. Do you agree or disagree?

Children ought to be provided with their personal laptops on starting their high schools, according to a few. I disagree with this opinion because indulgence in unnecessary extracurricular activities through the laptops can have some serious repercussions on their educational career. The provision of laptops to children during their high school days may have serious effects on their academics. Since, higher secondary schooling is considered to be an important and a deciding milestone in one's educational career, providing a laptop to a child at this point can distract him from his studies. For instance, youngsters are often found maniac about online video gaming and surfing social media on their laptops. This ultimately results in poor academic performances. Moreover, a recent survey has revealed that the use of laptops at an early age is amongst the leading causes of the student's failure in examinations. Thus, children should not be given laptops unless they complete their schooling and reach the collegiate level. Another important factor for not giving the minicomputer to a youngster at his high school level is the unnecessary exposure of his tender mind to various immoral and criminal stuff. Lack of effective age checks on the questionable material available on the internet, like drugs and pornography, can bring serious harm to the personality of a young child. Hence, instead of focussing on his studies, a child may easily fall into the trap of drug mafia and other social evils. This not only ruins his educational career, but also threatens his life at the same time. To conclude, I strongly believe that providing a minicomputer to a high school child is counterproductive and can distract him from his studies. Young students often waste their valuable time on the internet and therefore end up in poor academic performances and low moral values. Hence, parents should be more cautious regarding the appropriate age to provide their children with a laptop of their own.