Some people think that drug addicts should be treated like criminals and sent to jail, while others believe that they should be treated like patients and sent hospital. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by many people that perceiving like criminals and putting into prison should be the ways to treat drug addicts, those who disagree point out that hospitalizing and caring them as patients should be a choice. In my perspective, I believe punishing them as prisoner and providing regular rehabilitation will be combination of treatment to improve the drug addicts’ condition. To begin with, consuming over pharmaceutical is banned in several countries, it can be said that this habit is a crime; the person who involves this activity has to live in jail for some periods as punishment. During spending time in jail, the pharmaceutical addicts can experience how hard the consequence of doing a crime is. To illustrate, in Indonesia, the prisoners have done a heavy work as a daily routine and live with limitations, such as: a long of work duration (from early morning to evening), strict schedule for sleeping or eating and short opportunity to meet their family. May the decision of imprisonment encourage the guilty amongst pharmaceutical consumers in order to make them surfeited in re-consuming over pharmaceutical in the future. On the other hand, pill addicts have been classified as one of the disorders in psychiatry, which affect mental health and metabolism of body. Therefore, healing them by treating as patients in the hospital is definitely the best solution to release them from this disorder and transform them being a normal person again. In particular, as patients in the hospital, over pill abuser will obtain rehabilitation treatment, such as addiction therapy, consultation with the psychiatrist, even getting holistic care for the curing pill effect on their body. The more they engage with those treatments, the higher possibility they to be cured will gain. In conclusion, I assume that giving regular consultation with the therapist or psychiatrist while sending them into jail is the greatest method to develop both physical and psychic condition of drug addicts. On the other words, they have received the punishment for their illegal habit besides acquiring treatment to deal with the disorder.