Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cellphone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Current technologies such as mobile phone tracking and security cameras are being used to monitor an ever growing number of people, and this is often done without them being aware of it. In my opinion, I think that the serious privacy and security issues these methods of surveillance pose far outweigh any advantages they might bring about. Admittedly, there are some benefits that monitoring technologies like phone tracking and security cameras provide, particularly in dealing with crime and terrorism. These methods can be crucial in tracing and identifying criminals and therefore, can help authorities pinpoint the location of criminals and prevent serious crimes from being committed. In other words, footage from security cameras can be pivotal in unmasking the identity of perpetrators and furthermore, it can prove crucial evidence for prosecuting when a case is brought against such individuals. Nevertheless, despite the advantages above, snooping on citizens without their consent and knowledge is an infringement on their basic human rights and the right to privacy. Governments can use these technological advances to suppress free speech and repress its citizens from exercising their right to free speech and expressing their opinions without repercussions of harm. In addition, in some countries these tracking technologies are being used to create public profile databases, which are then used to control the people through coercive methods to ensure compliance to unfair policies and can further limit citizen’s freedoms. Also, there is a high likelihood of this private and personal information falling into the wrong hands and causing serious problems for innocent and unsuspecting individuals. In conclusion, the harmful and detrimental effects surveillance technology has on the privacy and safety of both individuals and society, far outweigh the limited benefits of using it for the crime related challenges.