Some people believe that children should do what their parents tell them to do; others think children must learn to think for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is often argued that children should listen to their parents when it comes to making life decisions. Whereas, many believe that children should be allowed to think for themselves. Though this can make a child self-reliant and follows his passion. I feel parents should guide and share their life experiences, to make their child’s journey smoother. In my opinion, parents tend to be mature and always think best in their child's interest. Since parents know their child's weakness and strength, they play an instrumental role in choosing the right career. Because children usually follow activities, which makes them happy & excited, they tend to incline towards, music, arts and sports. For instance, many of my friend’s parents played a significant role in influencing their careers, even though my friends were good at sports, their parents directed them in studies, eventually, paid off later in their lives. However, not every parent's decision is correct, sometimes, parents underestimate their child’s talent. While many people argue, children should be encouraged to make their own decisions, will make them independent & confidence, and achieve greater things in life. Children with independent thinking skills, tend to be a good problem solver and better leaders in the future. For instance, great athletes followed their passion which resulted in achieving new heights in their field. In conclusion, children who listen to parents, tend to live average lives, compared to children who think independently, are more confident and achieve great success in their lives. Hence, I believe, children should be encouraged to think of themselves.