Museums are important as they promote the culture and heritage of country. With technology, all the information regarding this can be freely found. Will museums be no longer required? To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Museums and art galleries are vital to keep the cultural values and customs of a nation alive. However, many believe that rapidly increasing technical advancements will obviate the need to have museums as most of the information could be sought through technology, like the internet. In my opinion, I disagree and believe that technology can neither replace nor undermine the value of the museums. The most important factor that make museums and the art galleries irreplaceable, is the role they play in keeping the history and traditions of a nation alive. They provide an opportunity for the younger generation to familiarize themselves with their roots, like who their ancestors were? What were their customs and traditions, and how over the period of time their values have altered! In other words, such cultural exhibitions not only infuse patriotic spirit in the youngsters rather also make them cognizant about their lineage. Although technology like Wikipedia posses historical information about the different races. But either it is too basic or contains the third party views that is not reliable. Moreover, the way the spell bound atmosphere in the museums casts an impression on the mind, reading or watching it in the movie, for example, often lack that feeling. Hence, abandoning museum sounds similar to deprive the younger generation from their history and culture or to snatch the identity of a nation. Another factor advocating that technology cannot substitute historical buildings and museums is the financial aspect. As museums in a country are the most favourite tourist spots, abolishing them means putting an end to their revenues. This is especially a matter of concern for the countries whose economy rely on tourism. For instance, Egypt and Spain are amongst those few countries who attract tourism because of their rich cultural heritage, historical buildings and museums. Thus, museums besides many other benefits also add to a country's economy and are deemed important. To conclude, I strongly believe that despite the free flow of information that comes with the growing technology, museums are considered to have their own importance. This is because of their role in passing the historical values and culture to the younger generations from their predecessors and serving as the backbone for a few economies.