In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, neighbourhood stores are increasingly closed due to the impact of globalisation, and people are frequently interested in doing their shopping at big malls. In my opinion, this is a positive development which can lead to people saving their money and effort, and benefit the government immensely. To begin with, shopping at malls presents the customers with lots of benefits. Firstly, they get to buy things at a low cost when compared to the traditional standalone stores, which is feasible because, the big stores cut the cost by eliminating the middlemen between a store and a manufacturer. For example, retail chains like Sam's Club, operate with the motto "Save money, Live better" and pass on the benefits of low cost to their customers. Secondly, with supermarkets offering a wide range of home need products, customers get all their needs under one roof, saving them a tremendous amount of time and energy. Moreover, malls entertain their customers by organizing a variety of fun and leisure within their premises. Consequently, families plan their shopping activities in such a way that they complete the shopping and at the same moment get entertained. For instance, all major malls have cinema halls inside their campus to encourage their customers more time there.. Finally, shopping at big stores economically benefits the state in various ways. With the organized retail sector, tax collection becomes easy for the government, which is not the case with small shops who dodge paying their taxes. Furthermore, bigger malls provide more job to their communities. To illustrate this, a recent study on shopping malls, shows that, employment opportunities increase by 5% in a community whenever a new mall opens. Hence, is clear that shopping in malls benefits all the stakeholders of society. To conclude, it is evident that people and the government gain immensely from shopping in bigger malls than in standalone stores. The state should encourage the small store owners to extend their personalised services in the malls.