Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that practical exposure is as important as theoretical learning. An increasing number of people think that too much time is devoted to learning facts instead of doing hand-on practices in all periods of education, neither college or university. I certainly agreed with this opinion. To support this statement, I will address useful examples with my personal knowledge and experiences. Firstly, most of institutes follow conventional methods of teaching which include listening, reading and writing. Therefore, students only can remember the knowledge within limited of time. After completing theoretical examinations, they will totally forget everything they have learned from theoretical books. As a result, many doctoral graduates in physics cannot even change lighting bulbs. Likewise, lots of students cannot fill up tax forms by themselves. All of the points show shortcomings of a system of learning that focus on theory only. In addition to it, practical lessons bring positive impacts on students. If students understood the theory by conducting an experiment, the knowledge will keep in their brain for a long term. Besides, most of inventions were created accidentally daring hand-on practices. Without enough practical learning, people never can apply theory into real life. It might cause a serious problem that our education results cannot reach the expectations of the real society. To conclude, I definitely agreed with too much time is spent on studying facts rather than on learning practical skills because of the structure of teaching. Unfortunately, cramming education systems stop students to gain real world abilities.