In a recent survey conducted in this country, it was found that up to 20% of twelve year-olds in some schools were showing early signs of nicotine addiction. In the eighteen to twenty year age bracket the percentage was as high as 70%. A large contributing factor to this high level of addiction is attributed to the uncensored TV advertising of cigarettes. For this reason all cigarette advertising should be banned. Discuss.

Nowadays, the western world faced a crucial problem with harmful advertisement and the consequences. In regards to such a commercial, there is a dramatic change happens in adolescent lives. Moreover, Smoking issue among the teenagers is the major part of the crucial issue. This essay is going to examine the facts more closely. To begin with, the fact that smoking cause health problems is widely admitted. As a result of using cigarettes, people get lung cancer or heart diseases. Also, such diseases are more and more common in adolescents, due to the fact that they started smoking at an early age. Another supreme reason why cigarette advertisement should be banned is the government spending on free treatments. In other words, treatment of the consequences of cigarette consumption is quite expensive and the state allocates a lot of money annually. Due to this, other important areas such as transportation or education receive less money. However, there are some possible solutions to this problem is the increased awareness of teenagers. Thus, children will be less amenable to peer pressure and TV advertisement. For example, special classes at least once a week with specialists could radically increase the teenager’s awareness. Another, perhaps, a good solution is the government should cigarette impose tax higher to reduce demand and cover the cost of treatments. Furthermore, if the price of cigarettes will be too high, teenagers would not be able to afford it. To conclude, TV advertising of cigarettes is a crucial issue with political implementation. Especially in the country where so many young people are addicted to smoking. However, possible solutions can be made to reduce the number of smokers in general.