Young people are highly influenced by famous people and they look up to them as role models. Is that a positive or negative development?

With the digital explosion, the lives of celebrities are available in detail on the internet. The younger generations can access all this information and get influenced by it considering famous personalities as their role models. I strongly believe that this development has a negative impact on young children. To begin with, children are too naive to make the right decisions. When they are attracted to a popular personality, they follow everything done by the celebrity. When an actor, for instance, smokes in a movie for his/her role, teenagers think it is cool to smoke and develop a habit of smoking, which is injurious to health. Young people then closely follow their role model and start copying the behaviour they see in public which may have adverse effects on their daily lives. Inculcating their bad habits and the wrong attitude, in turn, has a negative outcome on the youth which they learn from the public figures they adore. Apart from this, when children are impacted by certain celebrities, they dream of being successful like them. To achieve that dream, the child starts to follow the exact journey and pathway taken by their superstar. This creates mental pressure, as it might not be the right path for them. Upon failing, young adults become disheartened and depressed, because they did not try other methods and were only influenced by their role model, while there could be other ways that could have worked. For example, young boys want to be like famous cricketer Virat Kohli and research his journey. But fail in the game and stop trying even though they may be good in some other field of sport. Thus, by following the celebrity, the younger generation can be negatively impacted. To conclude, I firmly believe that, the development of being influenced by popular people has a negative output on young adults. They can be easily drawn into wrong deeds and attributes and build mental pressure affecting their well-being.