In the future, all cars, buses, and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantagse?

Some claim that futuristic public transport will be able to carry the public over long distances without the presence of a driver. This essay will argue that the advantages of this shift outweigh the drawbacks. The essay will first suggest that enhanced accessibility and improved safety are the two foremost benefits, and then demonstrate that its primary disadvantage, namely job displacement, is not valid. One of the biggest advantages of the adoption of autonomous vehicles is that it offers mobility for a wide range of people. This is because self-driving vehicles are upgraded with automated driving and sensor technology, two of the most distinctive features that can steer, brake and gather data on surroundings. Therefore, individuals suffering from physical disabilities and the elderly are able to take the wheel and go on far trips. Another significant benefit of driverless means is that they provide the public with improved security. Some research has shown that 88% of traffic congestion is attributed to distractions and the poor driving habits of humans such as speeding or texting. As a result, using self-driving vehicles helps reduce the number of accidents caused by human errors and promotes the public’s safety. For instance, Tesla cars can run on autopilot, which means they can brake, decelerate, and honk without the control of owners. On the other hand, those opposed to this claim that this modal shift can exacerbate the issues of unemployment. This is predicated on the belief that if means of transport have the ability to decide everything independently from steering to picking passengers, the roles of drivers will be greatly displaced and diminished. However, there is no evidence to support this view, as there is an inundation of established counselling programs that can mitigate the problem of unemployment among drivers. A clear example can be seen in the program named TechHire, which not only equips drivers with technological skills and training but also offers apprenticeships with employment prospects. Alternatively, some of them can work as technicians who can focus on maintenance or become remote monitors to regulate the traffic. In conclusion, the fact that driverless means promote wider accessibility and better traffic security clearly outweighs the flawed argument that they lead to job losses.