Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisement forms an indispensable part of our daily life. Few people might agree that advertising and buying new products improves our lives, but I disagree too, few advertisements lure us into buying and spending a significant percentage of our money on frivolous items which are less likely to make any difference in our lives. Advertisements took a boom post-industrial revolution as people started having more buying power, and they were looking for ways to enhance their lives. Manufacturing companies began coming up with creative marketing strategies to spread awareness amongst people on how they can benefit from their products— for example, the advent of canned foods to save time in cooking. However, with rising competition and profit-driven market, survival became ubiquitous. The magnitude of the product utility has paid less attention. Nowadays, the marketing campaign is daunting and is designed in a way that lures the customer by exposing their insecurities, thereby making them think that without this product, their life is futile. For instance, Fairness creams targeting brown-skinned Asian women. The advertisement reinforces the viewers, making them wonder that the key to their success is not hard work, but is this face cream. I believe the government should put restrictions on the content of the advertisement being delivered to its citizens. We should be well informed about consumer products, and on the basis of its utility, we should be making a conscious decision whether to purchase or not. In conclusion, myriad advertisements surround us, and it is agreed by certain people that they contribute to making our lives better. Nonetheless, I believe a few publications are only driven by profit, and they manipulate us in buying unnecessary items, which doesn't make any difference in our lives except eroding our pockets.