Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

In this modern world, it is believed by some politicians that governments or municipalities should be entitled to control the new structures, whereas some authorities have denied that opinion and suggest that the contractors or employers should decide the pattern of the buildings. First of all, the heritage of the city should be the most important factor for any architect and civil engineer, and those responsible people should take into consideration of the sight of the cities. Moreover, the authorities such as the chamber of civil engineers and architectures work together with governments in order to save our history. Otherwise, the view of cities could change, and the next generations would not learn how and in which situation do their grandparents live in their hometowns. Furthermore, if people construct their own buildings regarding their own pleasure, the view of the streets would not be attractive for tourist. For instance, if the regulations do not prevent the maximum height of buildings, some of the citizens who stay in the lower floor would not be able to experience any sunlight in their flats. On the other hand, having a strict law and manuals which represent the frame of the structures in mega cities could impact negatively to the imagination of the architects. Due to that reason, the buildings would look similar to each other. In fact, if cities host a wide range of the type of building or any composition, the streets would be more colourful, and it shows the independence of the country. Moreover, the cost of any structure has increased since the 1980s due to high inflation rates. Instead of issuing restrictions to the companies that pay huge amount of money to create a building, those financial powers should be encouraged by governments and allowed to design their structures. In this way, the big cities would be more independent and financially stable. In conclusion, in the light of the information given above, both of the views have solid advantages and disadvantages in their own way, but, it should not be forgotten that the pattern of any city is crucial not only for us but also for our children. I am strongly convinced that while encouraging the designers to build aesthetic buildings, authorities should issue law and adjust the clauses of the manuals in line with increasing the attraction of a city.