Some people think it’s better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. other people believe it’s good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There is a widely held belief that forming friendships with those who see eye to eye on different matters is a better choice due to many reasons. However, this notion is not entirely straightforward, and arguments may be made against it. The debate will be discussed and a concluding view will be given in this essay. On the one hand, those who agree with the idea of having like-minded friends cite many merits that it brings to people’s lives. Firstly, choosing friends with the same perspective toward different issues causes a stronger bond to form between them. This will lead both sides to have a feeling of satisfaction by being confirmed which has positive effects on their spirit. For instance, those with the same taste of art or music feel to have much more in common and can spend quality time with each other. Moreover, as there is a minimum disagreement between friends with matching mindsets, a more powerful friendship would probably be established. Needless to say, this may make them lifelong companions due to the calmness in their relationship. On the other hand, opponents of the view point out that having friends with different mindsets can broaden their horizons. For example, friends can acquaint themselves with new viewpoints while discussing different subjects such as the economy or politics with each other. In addition, making friends with those who have dissimilar points of view may enhance communication skills as they learn to debate over some topics in a civilized manner. To conclude, it seems that being friends with people with different mindsets may bring more advantages such as broadening the mind rather than those with the same mindsets. It would appear that this can influence their lives positively.