In order to solve traffic problems, governments should tax private car owners heavily and use the money to improve public transportation. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a solution? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

In recent decades witnesses an increasing number of private vehicles on roads. To control governments can impose higher taxes on car owners and the collection of this tax can be utilised to improve public commuting services. In this essay, I will discuss related advantages and disadvantages with this solution. To begin with, the negative effect of this solution, citizens are obliged to pay many taxes and if the government introduces another high tax to owning a car, this may create more burden on their budget and lifestyle. For example, in the present a Canadian citizen pays about 12% of his salary for the tax, In this case if governments in-force new tax on them, they might break-down and they will not be able to maintain their life standards. As a result, they would demand an increment in their salary to their employer, and will create a burden on the employer and they will not be able to sustain their good employees or they might compromise with profit margin. At the end, this will create economical pressure on governments itself. On the other side, there are many positive views of this implementation. Due to the higher tax on purchase and maintaining a car, many may think not to buy a car rather manage with public buses and trains. As a result, less traffic issues and reduces the effect on the environment due to carbon deposit from vehicles. However, personal vehicles may be mandatory for some profession. For instance, a doctor who works for trauma service, it has become compulsory to own a vehicle for managing emergency situations. As per law, he is obliged to pay tax for being a car owner. Collection of this tax can be used to improve public transportations and in healthcare to improve their facilities. In conclusion, although it may create an extra burden on individuals and employers due to this tax, it is more important to consider environmental and traffic issues which might be mitigated with this tax law.