A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

The argument illustrates that the worth of a person is decided on the basis of physical things and people think more materialistic instead of considering the ethical values like respect, affection and reliability. In my opinion, more worldly things are being considered for deciding the status of a person, however, there exists few people who gave more value to the behavioural aspects. Now a day, people are trying to maintain their social status with luxurious cars, homes, highly earned jobs or by having other costly things. As more and more people believe in worldly things, they start praising and appreciating those who have all the costly stuff. One of the reasons behind this appreciation is, everyone wants to get benefited from such people. Those who praise and give them more priority are considered to be blessed. Hence, socially stable people get high influence in the society. On the other hand, one can still find individuals for whom moral values mean a lot. Though such people exist in smaller numbers, nevertheless, they are still important. I remember one of my neighbours, who was a simple man doing a job at a public office as a clerk. He was famous for his honesty and reliability. Almost everyone praises him being a good person and wants to enjoy his company. I always found many people around him just because of his trustworthiness. However, not everyone supports and give importance to him like a few of the individuals in my neighbourhood. In conclusion, I would say, a large number of people believe in those who have money and social status, where few exists who really appreciate moral values and love to enjoy their company just because of the ethics.