Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days, many people believe that reduced biodiversity is the main environmental problem and others think that there are more important problems in our life. In my opinion, the biggest problem revolves around the noticeable change in climate and there is a correlation between this plural of "this" these problems and dramatic change in the biodiversity There are natural fluctuations in the climate, but scientists say the world has been getting warmer and temperatures are now rising faster than many other times. Human activities such as burning fossil energy sources and clearing of rainforests are increasing the concentrations of greenhouse gasses in the atmosphere. These gases collect in the atmosphere and absorb solar radiation and cause the planet to get hotter. Climate change is affecting many plant and animal species and changing the life cycles of them such as mating, blooming or migration. For instance, many creatures that need to live in cold places might not have a suitable place to live so they have to migrate to other places. This changing conditions, can make growth or survival more difficult for them, therefore, the population of this animal is declining. Every plant and animal plays a role in the ecosystem, so losing one species can affect many others. Global warming is causing the sea level to rise because Icefalls are melting and adding water to the ocean and the volume of the ocean is expanding as the water warms. Rising seas pose a major risk to wildlife. It submerges their habitat, and ruins coastal plant communities. It also causes the interference of salty sea water into freshwater habitats and impacts on some species. In conclusion, I think that the best way to protect against species loss is to keep global temperature rise as low as possible. We should concentrate our efforts on this problem rather than only focus on the animals and plants’ extinction.