Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree?

Many people think that schools should only focus on teaching academic subjects and preparing students for formal exams. I completely disagree and would argue that practical life skills should be taught as well. First, it is a misconception that teaching strategies should be limited to a narrow focus on academic subjects and test success. It is not possible for every student to have a great career with fantastic job opportunities in fields such as Finance, Medicine, Law or Education. All of these require academic skills but the job market in these fields is relatively small. Students who fail their exams might feel like failures, and these negative feelings inevitably shape a child's personality and values during the formative years. Only a few students who excel in academic subjects will enjoy the material benefits of their success. Second, when children need to learn practical skills, they may not have their family or friends who can help them out. There are also many dysfunctional families where, for whatever reason, the parental involvement in raising their children is almost non-existent. Nevertheless, children need to learn those domestic skills, and for many of them, school is the only place to do so. Otherwise, as they enter adulthood, they will have to rely on expensive pre-made meals or buy new clothes and furniture, when all they really need is a simple repair. In conclusion, I totally disagree with an educational policy which focuses only on academic subjects and exam success. Schools must place equal value on life skills to ensure the full development of children.