The idea of having a single career is becoming an old fashioned one. The new fashion mil be to have several careers or ways of earning money and further education will be something that continues throughout life.

We live in a challenging and changing world stem from the fact that globalization leads to more competition. Therefore, it is no longer a luxury to be skilled in more than one profession, it became a necessity. I will explain the reasons here. Firstly, the working environment has evolved rapidly in the last decade due to high challenges with the other companies, locally and internationally alike. To reduce operational costs, many organizations adopted a new technology that replaced regular workers. For example, robots have replaced thousands of manual workers in the production line in car manufacturing companies. Secondly, it is a fact that many companies in developed nations shifted their production lines to less developing nations to avoid paying higher salaries and to be close to the raw materials. Consequently, traditional jobs, such as factory workers and production operators that used to be available in wealthy countries, such as the USA and European countries, moved to India and China. Finally, many international companies incline to outsource part of its business to other companies to reduce its payroll burden. As it is shown, some jobs will be terminated or moved to another nation. It can be seen that those with a unique career will be the most affected by this global trend. Therefore, they should diversify their skills either by pursuing a further education course or additional training to acquire new skills and ameliorate their professional profile. It is a fact that In case of redundancy, firms tend to terminate the services of workers with lower skills. Thus, one should always be ready to add more skills through continuous education. In conclusion, work conditions change regularly, therefore we should work hard to improve our skills and avoid making them obsolete to be able to compete in these challenging working conditions.