Some People Believe Online Reading Materials Should Only Be Used For A Child To Learn To Read, Whereas Others Believe Only Printed Material Should Be Used. Discuss Both Views And Give Your Opinion.

In recent times, there has been changes in teaching methodologies. Learning methods have evolved from the traditional methods, to learning to read online. As a result of this, some are of the opinion that it is more beneficial for a child to acquire school knowledge via the use of internet while others believe that the use of textbooks ought to be the focus. In my opinion, the use of printed materials would be more effective as this helps the child to develop better reading skills. On the one hand, it is often thought by some to encourage online reading because this method allows easy access to information and I disagree. In other words, the use of internet in reading allows young children to navigate through the web and get answers in a short period of time without having to refer to a book or teacher. For example, if a child desires to know all shades of blue, the child can access learning websites such as google and then insert this request, the results would be displayed at a click of a button. Furthermore, acquiring reading skills online would enable a child to master correct spellings as this method has auto-correct mechanisms to detect wrong spellings. On the other hand, it is often emphasized that the use of textbooks helps to develop the cognitive skills of a child and I agree. This means that a child can develop sustained attention when reading in a book. A child can focus on one page per time without any form of distraction. Consequently, they are connected to the texts and drawings in the books. This helps them to remember the contents with ease. In addition, learning through the of use of hardcopy materials can develop a child's handwriting. Also, health issues such as feeling strain in the eye due to prolonged screen time and can also be avoided in young children when the use of paper is used to learn. In conclusion, while people may vary in their opinions, I consider that the use of textbook helps children to develop reading, thinking and writing skills. Schools should focus on this mode of learning as it has been tested and trusted over the years.