Demand for gas and oil is increasing and so finding new sources in remote and untouched areas is a necessity. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the consumption of gas and oil growing around the world, consequently, exploiting fuels from unexplored lands has become necessary. The essay will clarify both sides of the coin, and demonstrate my view that the drawbacks outweigh its benefits. On the one hand, there may be some merits of this trend. Since gas and oil are the main sources of energy, It is undeniable fact that without it people cannot survive, so that one of the main advantages of it would that this improves the live standards of individuals. This can be best exemplified by developing countries. In order to advance the utilization of these fossil fuels is the most feasible solution as it allows people to heat their homes or run their cars, the production of goods would be improved too. All of these result in higher living standards, and thus we need to keep finding new sources since we will eventually run out. On the other hand, despite the advantages mentioned above, I believe that excessive dependence on gas and oil has serious damage to the planet as a whole. The first potential shortcoming is that the use of fossil fuels gives rise to global warming. As a result, mankind faces the threat of extinction. Another disadvantage would be that if excavating these fossil fuels on uncovered land animals around it will die and environment will also be damaged there. This, in turn, justifies the fact that a great number of animals are on the verge of extinction. In addition to that, diseases will spread more quickly and affect more people because of the emission of poisonous gases and other contaminants from factories. In conclusion, since there are some positives of this trend I still believe that its demerits are more considerable.